The Town of Clayton Administration Office provides comprehensive information to the Town Council and the public, conducts operational and administrative Town business, and supports and implements Council policies to make Clayton a town of the highest standard.

The Administration Office includes the Town Manager, two Deputy Town Managers, Town Clerk, and Town Attorney. Our goal is to provide customer service that is friendly, efficient, and above standards, and to provide information to the Town's citizenry in that same manner.

  1. Rich Cappola

    Town Manager

    Rich CappolaRich Cappola was officially named Town Manager on Oct. 3, 2022. Before that he served the town in a variety of roles including the town’s first director of engineering and inspections, director of public services, deputy town manager, and as interim town manager. In his role as town manager, Cappola said he will focus on managing growth and streamlining processes involving master planning, design, permitting, and construction. He plans to continue to prioritize the operations and management of the town's services and infrastructure. He also hopes to further cultivate and expand community relationships and partnerships.  

    Cappola has 20 years of civil engineering, design and land-use planning experience, working in both municipal government and the private sector as a professional engineer (PE). He recently earned a Master of Public Administration degree from NC State, where he also earned a master's degree in Biological and Agricultural Engineering. He holds a Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering from Clemson University as well. A Connecticut native, Cappola has lived in the triangle region of North Carolina since 2006. He is a member of the International City/County Management Association (ICMA), the North Carolina City and County Managers Association (NCCCMA), and the American Public Works Association (APWA).

  2. Dolores Gill

    Deputy Town Manager

    Dolores GillDolores Gill joined the Town of Clayton on March 1, 2021, as Deputy Town Manager. She previously served as Chief of Operations and Communication for Johnston County Public Schools (JCPS). Gill successfully served the school system in a variety of leadership roles, including as Chief of Operations and Communications, Chief of Staff, Area Superintendent, Elementary Area Supervisor and School Principal. She began her career with JCPS in Clayton in 1996 and served as the Principal of West Clayton Elementary School for five years before moving into district leadership. Gill holds two master's degrees and an undergraduate degree from East Carolina University. She is experienced in facilities management and construction, growth planning, and technology and communications, and has extensive experience in problem-solving, strategic planning, policy development, and the implementation and monitoring of large-scale budgets.

  3. Lee Barbee

    Deputy Town Manager

    Lee BarbeeLee Barbee was named Deputy Town Manager in May 2023, after officially retiring as the Town's Fire Chief, a position he held since 1991. Barbee also served as the Interim Deputy Town Manager for the Town of Clayton since 2021. He is a 1974 graduate of Clayton High School, and his extensive education as a firefighter began immediately after graduation when he joined the Clayton Fire Department in 1975. After joining the fire department Chief Barbee was been extremely involved in advancing the fire service and has served in numerous leadership capacities with an impressive assortment of local, state and national organizations including: Johnston County Firemen’s Association, Eastern Carolina Firemen’s Association, NC State Firemen’s Association, Johnston County Fire Chiefs’ Association, North Carolina Association of Fire Chiefs, Southeastern Association of Fire Chiefs, International Association of Fire Chiefs, and an active participant in the North Carolina Fallen Firefighters Foundation. Lee Barbee was named North Carolina Fire Chief of the Year in 2018.

  4. Heidi Holland

    Town Clerk
    Phone: 919-553-5002 x5301

    Kimberly MoffettHeidi Holland was named the Town Clerk in August 2022. Before that she served the town for four years as deputy clerk. Holland acts as the liaison between the Mayor and Town Council, Town staff, and the public. Her primary duties include: attendance at all Council meetings; preparation of agendas for Council meetings; preparation of minutes of the actions of the Council; preparation of notices of Council meetings and public hearings; preparation and publishing of Town ordinances, resolutions; custodian of records and legal documents pertaining to the Town; and administration of oaths of office. Holland earned her North Carolina Certified Municipal Clerk certification in 2021 followed by her Certified Municipal Clerk (CMC) certification from the International Institute of Municipal Clerks in 2022. She also holds an associate degree from the Art Institute of Pittsburg.

  5. James Cauley

    Town Attorney

    James CauleyThe Town Attorney is James P. Cauley III of Cauley Pridgen PA. The Town Attorney attends all Council meetings and advises the Council on a full range of legal matters. The Town Attorney also acts as Legislative liaison for the Town with the North Carolina General Assembly. Mr. Cauley has extensive experience in land condemnation cases and the representation of public utilities. He has served as a legal instructor at Campbell University School of Law, Barton College and Wilson Technical College. He was a charter member of the Council for the NC Bar Association’s Government & Public Sector Section and is also a past chair of that Section. His practice focuses on business, government, and land issues and any related litigation. He is also a certified mediator and lobbyist. Mr. Cauley also serves as President of Cauley Pridgen, P.A.